Thursday, October 11, 2012

Houston Tri Race...

Houston Tri on Towne Lake. 400m open water swim, 13 mile bike and 3.1 mile run.  This one was the last tri of the season for me this year. I hadn't trained all that much for this one. With my wife being on the tail end of her pregnancy there hasn't been much time, or drive for that matter, to train as much I should've. My running had been getting better... faster. I hadn't really been swimming or biking all that much but I had been going to a spin class about once a week and trying to swim before the spin classes....
Mother Nature decided to flex her muscles the day before the race and the race officials ultimately decided to cancel the bike portion of the race due to high water on the course. I was a little disappointed because I feel that the bike is the best of the 3 disciplines. So the race turned into a Aquathon of a 400m Swim and a 5k.
Prior to this race I had a patient of mine give me a DVD of a swimming technique called "Total Immersion". It's not to improve speed but to improve technique which allows for a more efficient swim, allowing for more energy after the swim. I actually didn't get to watch the entire DVD but I did watch some of it and used the technique during the race. This swim was one of the most congested starts I've ever been apart of. The first 100 or so, I was kicked and punched... the technique I used was STAY ALIVE! After the first turn, about 100m, I actually was able to use the Total Immersion technique and it worked well. I finished the swim in 9:50, good for 9th out of 30 in my division.
This race actually had a transition of about a 1/3 mile from swim exit to transition area. Had about a 150 yard run out of water down a sandy path and onto a street. I had some shoes placed at end of the sandy path to finish the run on the concrete. Overall it took 6:10, 11th out of 30.
Me and coworkers. 
The run path circled around Lone Star Cy Fair campus and through the Towne Lake Subdivision. It felt pretty good running. I tried to start a good pace in the beginning and wanted to finish strong. I was able to finish the run in 28:09 which was 7th out of 30. I finished in 44:10 which put me in 6th place in my division.... UNTIL I was penalized 2:00 for using my headphones during the run. Yes, it's a USAT rule. Yes, it was a rookie mistake. Yes, I understand why the rule is in place (for biking). No, I wouldn't have used them under normal circumstances. I am completely happy with what I did on that day and have no regrets!... However, the 2 minute penalty put me back to 11th of 30.
Also would like to say thanks again for my dad going with me to the race. Waking up early to come support me and my coworkers so my pregnant wife didn't have too. He is a great dad and friend! I have a great blueprint for how I will try to be.....

.... To be continued!

Wade

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Bridgeland Tri Race Report

550m Swim, 13 mile Bike, 3.1 mile Run
The day started with a good pre-race routine, a winding back-road drive that took about 30-40 minutes, and nice set up in transition. I had checked my bike the day before so it made my morning much easier.  This tri is well known throughout the area and had about 1500 racers. The ON UR Left group that put in on, did a fantastic job. My dad went with me, even though Kelli ultimately wanted to go, we wouldn't let her. It was going to be too hot, with no shade or many places to sit. So a big Thanks goes to him for getting up early and going with me! 
The Swim: A point to point 550m swim in open water. Unlike CB&I Tri, which was open water too, the point to point swim meant no loop and looks a lot further when its a straight line. Actually, when standing on the mushy sandy bottom of the lake and look along the swim path, the finish was around a bend, which prohibited the racers from seeing the finish. However, this was the first Tri that I did not feel any butterflies or nervousness while waiting on the start. I felt comfortable, confident. Maybe it was because I wasn't there to make a certain time. Maybe because this was lucky number 3 Tri... The "gun" sounded and off we went. 
I made it to the 2nd buoy, about 200m, swimming freestyle. Started to catch up to the pack, thus running into other competitors was inevitable. I switched to breast stroke for the next 100m or so, making it around a bright yellow buoy, which was our queue to turn right and head for shore. At one point on the home stretch, I put my head in the water, and just swam hard... To only look up and notice I had only gone about 50m. It just seemed like I wasn't able to go anywhere fast. I did that a few more times and finally made it to shore. Official Swim time: 13:45. 58th out of 81 in my Age Group. 
Transitions: Since I wasn't in this race to actually RACE, I took my time while in transitions. T1 was 4:40 and T2 was 3:06! That is laughable! Almost 8 minutes of Transitions, but that's ok. I was worried about the Transitions in this race. Just wanted to have fun and practice in open water. 
The Bike: I had initially wanted to just cruise around 16-17 mph on the bike, but I guess the competitor in me and the fact that the Bike ride was flat and fast, I ended up riding faster than expected. I averaged 19.1mph and was happy with my time. Official Bike time: 40:50. 62nd of 81 in Age Group. 
The Run: I was trying something new for this triathlon. I was running cycle of 4 minute run and 1 minute walk. And I initially thought it was slow, but after seeing official time, I liked the outcome. I used my Garmin watch this time, which gave me immediate feedback on my speed, which helped me stay on a good pace when running. The course curved through the Bridgeland community, which was very nice. Paths were curvy and narrow, but nicely shaded in areas. Official Run time: 31:44. 72nd out of 81 in Age Group. 

I finished with a time of 1:34:07. 70th in my Age Group. I probably could have done it faster, but I am glad I didn't. I enjoyed the race and survived the swim. It was a hot Houston day, so just to finish was an accomplishment. We received some beautiful finisher medals too!.... 

On Another Note: My back didn't like the bike ride this weekend. I started to feel it tighten up after the race and now 4 days later, it is still bothering me. I am going to get it checked out, b/c with my history of back issues I want to get a better understanding of what is going on back there. I will keep everyone posted, however, it does not look like the Olympic Distance will happen at the end of September, regretfully. But there will be one more race before the Summer of Tri comes to an end. 

As Always, Thanks for the support! I really appreciate it!!!

Wade

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Surprise.... BREAKING NEWS!


About 2 months ago I got a sponsored entry from the company I work for, to race in the Bridgeland Tri. When I registered for the race, it told me that I was on the "Wait List". Since this is a big race, with a lot of competitors, I didn't think I was going to get into it. 

Going into TriAggieland, the Bridgeland Tri was in the back of my mind. I had really written it off as not getting in to the race.... Well, Surprise Surprise!! I received an email stating "We are happy to inform you that you have been selected to race in the Bridgeland Triathlon." So this weekend, I went down into Houston to pick up my packet... Oh, the Tri IS THIS WEEKEND!

The week following TriAggieland, I took the week off and rested my legs. Last week I started a 10 week training program for my next triathlon. The two swims workouts were really good this week. Running was productive and got a little circuit training session in too. I didn't get any on the bike. I was planning on riding this weekend, but I was a little under the weather. I've had a sore throat since last week, I finally broke down and had to go to a RediClinic because it was hurting pretty bad to swallow. I tested negative for strep, whew! I did get a Rx for a Z-pack, so we will see if I can kick it before the weekend.

Breaking News: The 10 week training program is an Olympic Distance training schedule. Yup, you read that right, Olympic distance! I think I am ready for the next step... I am nervous, to say the least! Houston Tri, Sept. 30.... 1500m open water swim, 24+ mile bike and 6.2 mile run...

No where in the 10 week training program does it say, Race in a sprint Tri. But I'm going to do it anyways. I am going to use Bridgeland to try and pace my self and not go for time. I will just shoot to finish the Olympic distance so I need work on pacing myself. I haven't registered for it yet, but I will soon. 

Bridgeland Tri: 7 Days!

Am I Crazy?
Wade

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

TriAggieland Race Report


I was back. Back to the town I was born in... Bryan/College Station. Back in the town where my parents grew up. Where my dad graduated from Texas A&M. Back in the town where we spend holidays and see family. Back in the town where, with the exception of my parents, my family lives. This time though, I was back to race in the TriAggieland sprint triathlon. This triathlon has been on my calendar for a while now. This one was a little special due to the fact that my Uncle and I were going to be racing in it together. 
I trained hard for this one. I trained for speed. Since I had already accomplished the goal of finishing a Tri, this one was for time! 
Sunrise over Kyle Field. Natatorium to Right. 
PRE-RACE: We were staying in College Station with my Grandmother. The alarm didn't really wake me up, but once I heard my dad rustling around down the hall, I was up. I had my pre-race routine, loaded the truck and headed to the race site on the A&M campus.
Once we arrived and got body marked, I entered the transition to set up. After putting the bike on the rack, set up my transition area, I got my ear plugs and goggles, exited to the transition area to walk across the parking lot to the Natatorium. My Uncle and I were talking before going to get ready for the swim, we noticed how bad the concrete hurt my feet and he suggested putting my shoes at the end of the sidewalk when exiting the pool, I took his advice (more on that later). We entered the Natatorium, went to use restroom and then got seated for the pre-race talk and National Anthem. A group of UT students or alum or t-shirt fans, were there and started a "Texas--Fight" chant, I guess it was too early, but the Aggies didn't even do their hissing, or sssss'ing or whatever it is. The chant didn't last long, however, the wait to get in the pool, DID! I sat there and talked with my Uncle, met his trainer, went to the restroom, tried to loosen up and THEN I was put into line to get into the water.
Swim: I was bib number 209 so it took a while for me to get in the pool. I really wished I could have warmed my legs up a little bit more before the 400m pool snake style swim. (8x 50m lengths.) They were pretty well organized, but the first competitor was sent of around 7:05 and I probably hit the water 20 minutes later, I guess. They were putting people in the water and sending them off in 5 sec intervals. 
The First 150m I thought I was doing well, form was good, time seemed to be doing good. Then I started to feel water getting into my right ear, so my breathing every 3 strokes turned faulty. I tried every 4, but it was to long and every 2 strokes was taking too much effort. I changed to my trusty breast stroke. Swimming the next 100m breast stroke I actually passed some people. Just before the last lap, I was preparing to past a racer but she did something weird with her lane change which didn't allow me to pass her like I wanted and caused me to swallow some water. I needed to clear the water out of my throat, allowing some of the people that I had just passed, to get back in front of me. Once I was on the final length, I was close enough to pass but decided not to. I got out of the water, and started on to the transition. My "official" time in the water was 10:31, but I had 9:55 on my watch and my dad timed me at 9:30. So, I am not sure where their timing stopped for the swim. Whether it was right out of the pool, not until the transition area or somewhere in-between. I was 23rd in my age group for the swim. 
T1: There was about 50-75 yards to the transition area from the building. I put my shoes by the wall of the building so I could lean up against it while putting on the shoes. Turned out to be a great idea by my Uncle. I could actually get across the concrete without tearing up my feet. It allowed me to be 6th in my age group for T1. Official time of T1 was 2:06. 
BIKE: The 12 mile, 2x 6 mile loops, ride had some elevation on it. But for the most part it was pretty fast ride. The ride was on good roads until we got into the campus roads, but they were marked very well to caution us about the cracks and bumps. There was a long section, about half way through the loop that was a long steady up hill climb that proved to be the hardest for me. I was pretty happy with my ride. Officially 37:19, averaging 19.3 mph, good for 13th in my age group. 
T2: Got into transition, got some water, a GU and I was out. 1:32 in T2, good for 11th in my age group. One blunder, I forgot to tighten my shoe laces. Had to stop outside of the transition to tighten the laces. 
RUN: 32:47, 10:34/ mile pace, 22nd in age group. The one thing that I can say about the run is... HOT! I told my Family after the race was that I completely underestimated how hard the run was going to be. The first mile was the hardest for me. I finally was able to get to some water and some gatorade, which was awful! The gatorade was warm and lemon flavored, but I think it is exactly what I needed. The last two miles proved to be a little better for me. I usually try to walk the aide stations, about every mile. This time I was walking about every half mile for about 20 seconds. One time towards the middle of the race, when I was walking, I noticed a gentleman pass me and on his right calf his age read 74!! At that point, I graciously passed him and only stopped one more time, at the water station, to get some more of that brutally necessary gatorade and cool water bath. I didn't have my Garmin watch so it was tough for me to run without that immediate feedback of speed...

Big Boy feels small.
I can't forget to mention the couple of laps inside of Kyle Field. I have been in that stadium many times. I have been in there to cheer for the Aggies of old. When I was younger, my dad took me there to get autographs from Aggies. I have performed in a football camp there. And I have most recently been there to cheer for the Scarlet and Black! (Thanks to realignment, not anytime soon.) But this day I was in that stadium as part of the 3 mile run. We had to endure the sauna like heat that the black rubber outlining the field was putting out. It was pretty "cool" though. All in all I enjoyed going through the cool scenery of Kyle Field. Actually, kind of eerie. An 85,000-ish seat stadium and no one sitting in the stands, and then I could hear my Mom's words of encouragement echoing off of the aluminum bleachers... "GO GET EM RED RAIDER! WRECK 'EM!" Gotta love my mom!

My Uncle Larry and I with our finisher medals. 
FINISH: Official time was 1:24:17. 23 in my age group and 196 overall. I was shooting for somewhere in the ball park of 1:20-1:25, so I feel good about my time.... Kinda. I was wanting my run to be under 30 minutes, but since the weather was a little more humid and warm, I will take it and be VERY happy with my completion of my 2nd sprint tri... Most improvement I saw between the 1st and 2nd were the transitions. At T1 I went from 3:09 at CB&I to 2:06 at TriAggieland and T2 1:54 to 1:32. I cut off 1 minute 25 seconds off my transitions. 


I had a great time running this race. It was well organized, fun and I will definitely do it again next year... My Uncle and I are trying to get my Dad to do it too, so maybe we will have another Garrett racing!

And I have to thank my pregnant wife, who is 7 months prego, for coming and standing in the heat to cheer me on too! I love you and always enjoy you coming to support me! Your cheers always make me smile!


Wreck 'Em from TriAggieland 
Wade

Thursday, July 12, 2012

My Grandmother & RACE WEEK...

It is race week... Yup race week! I have been excited all week but when the news of my grandmother's fall broke this week my mindset has changed a little bit... She fell off her back patio this week, fracturing her skull and shattering her wrist. Luckily the brain is okay. Her wrist needed surgery to place pins to put her radius back together. AND thank goodness for LifeAlert! It really did save her in this situation.... I have done a couple workouts this week. I will try to get a lite workout in tomorrow and it will probably be my last one until Race Day! I will go get my bike back from the tune-up Friday, test ride it and start packing and getting everything ready for the weekend. It will be good to see family, especially my grandmother. Thank you for all of the prayers. It sounds as if she is doing well, but has a long road to go.

TriAggieland: 2 DAYS!!

-Wade

Friday, July 6, 2012

PEAK WEEK -- Coming to an end

Today was a twofer day. Interval bike ride on the stationary bike this AM and a swim after work. I was going to do a brick this weekend but I wasn't thinking and took Scotty to get a tune up for next weekend. Bike: 15 minute warm up, 3' hard/ 3' easy x4. Swim: 5x200m.
I am a excited about the swim... Which is a complete 180° from the CB&I. I have been working hard on getting faster, more efficient and I think, if the stars align right, that I will have a good swim on race day!

TriAggieland: 9 days! 

--Wade

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Swim Day - PEAK WEEK

Following a lite warm up... 2x400m at race effort. 1st 400m 8:42, 2nd 8:54. Pretty excited about these two times. Was in a 25m pool, race will be in a 50m. Will need to get some workouts in a 50m before the race.

TriAggieland: 12 days

Wade
- BlogPress for iPhone