AM Run:
In Texas, especially here in Houston area, the heat is rising to the triple digits and training is getting tougher and tougher. You aren't only fighting yourself but the elements as well. Since I don't like running on treadmills, I'm toughing it out! I feel that I had a great run this morning, and definitely had a great sweat going. This run was the first time hitting the pavement since probably Warrior Dash in mid-March! But surprising I was able to non-stop run for 30 minutes, which is what I set out to do. It wasn't as fast as it once was but I Got the volume run I wanted this morning. 30 minutes, 2.85 miles... I'm ok with that.
PM Swim:
My brother and sister-in-law had a white Boxer and his name was Bowen... And when Bowen would try to swim he looked so awkward in the water because he would just punch his arms splashing around aimlessly, his butt would sag in the water and he would gasp for breath, but he would make it, it just look REALLY awkward. On the other hand, my dog is a yellow lab named Raider. When he swims it is effortless. He's smooth, barely a splash, hovers equally above/below the water and hardly makes a sound when swimming... I told you that to tell you this... I'm a Bowen. Just call me Wade Bowen! (haha, if you don't get that joke, do yourself a favor and Google: Wade Bowen, thank me later!)
After work we went to the neighborhood pool and got some laps in. I am getting better, less Bowen-like, but still have my moments. Good news is I believe I am getting better and I have only had three swim workouts... I'm happy!
Something to leave with: I think I have narrowed down my first sprint triathlon to look forward to, but it is not until September and was hoping for something a little sooner... Stay tuned!
Thanks for Reading,
Wade
A tale (or tail) of two dogs. Ha! I appreciate the literature reference. Wade. I googled wade bowen and could totally see the resemblance. Keep swimming. Of similar note, I went running in january and when I came in, I had ice on my beard. I felt hardcore.
ReplyDeleteFirst, Wade Bowen (the real one) is way to talented for a chump like me to be compared to :-)
ReplyDeleteSecond, that beard was so legit, you had to take care of it! Thanks for reading buddy!