Thursday, December 29, 2011

Setback be damned!

4 weeks ago I strained my hip flexor while playing in a softball tournament. 2 weeks ago the pain was still there but not constant. 1 week ago I tried jogging, I went one mile, without pain. This past week I have been running at the gym on the treadmill for about 2-2.5 miles at a time... Side note: I got a pair of Vibram Five-finger shoes for Christmas and been running in those on the treadmill and I LOVE THEM. It makes my calves sore as hell but they are cool to workout in... They may not be for everybody, but I like them.

Today was my scheduled long run day. I didn't know how long I wanted to run today because my setback, well, had it's own setback. During the early part of this week my hip randomly started to hurt again. After working with a patient that required me sitting on a rolling stool, I got up to walk, and it let me know it wasn't 100%! My first thought was that the 1/2 marathon is the first weekend in March, and I didn't know if I would be ready. I was afraid I had lost too much of my conditioning, but I pushed on.

I ended up running the furthest distance I have ever ran in my life. After not logging but a few runs of 2-2.5 miles over the last 4 weeks I logged a personal record of 7 miles today. To say that I am excited is an understatement! I started out thinking I would try for 4 miles and finished with 7 miles completed for a time of 1:12:05... Setback be damned!!

"May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
may God hold you in the palm of His hand." --- traditional gaelic blessing

-Wade

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Big Boy is Running

It has been a while since I have shared on my own little corner of this blogging universe. Since the last time I have signed up for a half marathon, scheduled for March in the Woodlands. So, naturally, I have started running more and more. I ran in the 'Run Thru the Woods' 5 mile run on Thanksgiving morning and I paced at a 9:00/mile... Yeah this big boy was hoofin-it! I have been trying to increase my long runs by 1/2 mile each week in hopes that I will be ready for 13.1 by March. I decided to challenge myself with this because I wanted increase my long distance running... And maybe, just maybe, doing a Tri that is longer than a sprint... But only time will tell, baby steps!
Let me preface this by saying I am not a paid spokesperson... I came across the Nike+GPS app for iPhone recently. I used the first Nike+ system a long time ago when I started getting into running, before I got the Garmin watch I have now (and still use). I had forgotten how nice it is to run with music!! All the running snobs say you shouldn't run with music, Blah blah blah, and I followed suit. But I used the new app on a run the other day and it was awesome! The music, the audio feedback during the run and the Nike+ website was all back! I really did enjoy using this a few years ago but the accuracy of the first generation Nike+ system was its biggest flaw and ultimately lead me to Garmin. Even the new GPS Nike app is a little off from the Garmin, about .05/mile. I know that doesn't sound like much, but when you think 5 miles is actually 4.75 miles, and during your race the sweet lady comes on and says "Congrats you have completed your run." and you don't see the finish line, You kinda freak out! However, I would recommend it for runners who are just starting out, and don't want to shell out the money for the Garmin, or for those that want a change of pace with music and a friendly voice occasionally giving you words of encouragement. If you are already running with music, what do you have to lose? Well, about $2 for the app... Infomercial complete...
Also, we recently joined 24 hour fitness. We were getting burned out working out at home, and starting to push it aside for more important things, like TV and general laziness. But now I have no excuses for swimming and cycling, seeing how they have both inside where mother nature cannot flex her muscles... And in Texas during the "Winter", it happens often. Not like a bodybuilder that is strong and powerful, but more like a ninja, quick and unpredictable... My goal is to swim and do a spin class once a week until after the 1/2 marathon. I have my eye on 3-4 triathlons this next season, starting in late April or early May.
Prayers are welcomed and appreciated on this long journey. Thanks to everyone of you for your support. I appreciate it. Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and is safely gearing up for the holiday season.

Wade

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

OUCH.... The Hit

I was looking for what my latest entry would be about, then there it is, an email from my mother telling me why I should wear my helmet. And it wasn't a car-bike collision, nor was it a crazy JackAss video. I had seen the video from a tweeted link by DeadSpin earlier this week, yet forgot about it until the email... Thanks Mom!

In the last month or so I have heard a few stories about bicyclist in the Woodlands area getting hit by deer while training on their bikes. It hasn't happened often but it has happened. Yes! That's deer, hitting the bicyclist..... the DEER..... hitting the BICYCLIST, not the other way around. I found it hard to believe initially but after hearing this from a couple people, I started to believe that it has happened before. But I remained skeptical... Until OUCH!
This video is from a bike race over in South Africa. A 300+ pound African Antelope blind sided a racer, like a helpless wide receiver going over the middle to to catch a pass only to be hit by a monster linebacker! Like when Quentin Coryatt laid this unforgettable Hit!
I have to believe it now. However getting hit by a measly 100 pound East Texas deer is nothing compared to a 300+ pound African animal but I think they would equally hurt, knock you out and make the person watching say "Ohhh, you got knocked the [hell] out."

For this I will always wear my helmet, you know incase I get blind sided by a deer... Or an African animal.... Or Quentin Coryatt!

Wade
- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Monday, October 3, 2011

Did the Du...


First, I want to say thank you to every prayer, every thought, every reader and every best wish. It's nice to have all of the support you all have shown me. I am very lucky. Thank you all!
On to the good stuff... 'Du the Bear' was a 2 mile run, 10 mile bike, 2 mile run. It started at 7AM, check in was at 5:45, which means we had to wake up at 4:30 and leave the house by 5:15. Did I mention I LOVE MY WIFE :-)..... The weather was awesome! Couldn't have been any better, was low 60's maybe high 50's during the race.
The race was a fast track, by that I mean there were no hills, very little grade. I started out running a little bit faster than I wanted but I was staying with a pack of other runners and felt good about it. Before I knew it, I was finishing the first run in 16:51, which is an 8:26/ mile pace! (I usually train between 9:30 to 10:00/ mile pace.)


Then I was on to the first transition. I put my gloves and helmet on, and downed some GU (a caffeinated gel). Then my glasses, which sat atop my head during my run, had gotten fogged up, which limited my sight for the first 100 yards or so. A little bit of water and I was off. It was two 5 mile loops for the bike portion. I really started to hit a groove about the 3rd or 4th mile. I was done in 31:34, which was a 19 mph pace.
The next transition is where I made a mistake.... I come in the bike area, drop off the bike, gear, & grab a shot of water and one more GU for the road. Yet, I 'GU'd-up'! When starting the run, I GU'd without water. I had to wait until 1st mile water station. It was like chewing a piece of gum with cotton mouth. My 2nd run started a little slower than the first, naturally. I was pacing my self behind a fellow racer and looked at my Garmin watch and thought I could actually push myself a little harder, so I did. I passed him at the water station and once I washed the cotton ball of GU out of my mouth and I was on the home stretch.



I finished the 2nd run in 17:06 (an 8:33/ mile pace) for a total time of 1:07:41. Kelli greeted me at the finish line asking, "How was it? How do you feel?" The first words out of my mouth were, "That was too fast." But I felt good, surprisingly good. I didn't need to vomit. Maybe I was all hopped up on GU's and adrenaline... But I felt good. I really enjoyed myself and the race was operated really well and was well organized. A great track for a beginner and a good track to work on tempo and speed. I will try and do it again next year. I have a confidence now that I haven't had before. I am ready for the next phase... A triathlon... Well at least the bike and run portion, to bad I have to swim! :-)

Thanks again for all of the support!

Wade

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Saturday, October 1, 2011

Wish Me Luck...

I am less than 24 hours away from the Duathlon. I am just trying to keep hydrated today and rest a little. I'm a huge fan of college football, so I am streaming the Northwestern and A&M game on the lap top and have to Tech game on the big screen... All while writing this blog on the iPad. I love technology, but it will ruin us one day.
Tomorrow I think I am more nervous about the transitions than anything. I worry about how long it will take me between each discipline. And I did some recalculating, goal is 1 hour and 20 minutes. I am striving for 20 minute runs and 35 minute ride, leaves 2.5 minutes per transition.

Wish me luck.
Wade

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Duathlon...

I am proud to announce that I have signed up for my first multi-sport event. A Duathlon named 'Du the Bear', held here in Houston, in one week. It is not a triathlon because there is no swimming portion.... I'm sneaky!... Instead it consists of a 2 mile run, a 10 mile bike, then another 2 mile run.

I decided to do this to calm some nerves about performing in a multi-sport event. The transitions and getting around the other competitors will be different than what I am used to. I am nervously excited about it. My goal is to finish in 1 hour and 15 minutes... And not to puke.... Oh, and finish.

Thanks for reading. I know I haven't been to consistent with the blog but Thank you all for staying with me. I appreciate your support!!

Wade

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Sunday, September 11, 2011

The Last Ten Years...



It has been 10 years: 10 years, wow, that means I have a 10 year High School reunion this year. When looking back, like all of us, I still remember the day. However, what is the Ten years without talking about some changes along the way. Some sad, some happy, some fun, some difficult. In the last 10 years I personally have experienced: 3 graduations, finding the true love of my life and getting a nod of approval from my grandfather before losing him, getting married, buying a new home and even losing a little hair. We have all expierenced advances in technology, seen the rise and fall of MySpace, the subsequent rise of Facebook and Twitter, 3D movies and TV, internet in the palm of our hands and being in contact with anyone at anytime, anywhere. We have all seen death, birth, love and hate. None of which made us stand still collectively at one time and have an affect on our lives like 9/11/01.


Me at 17.

9/11/01: I was 17 years old, a Senior at Conroe High School and probably should have been in school like many of my other classmates, I wasn't. That morning started like any other, I picked up my best friend and my then girl friend to take to school that morning. But that morning turned out a little different, I wasn't feeling good for some strange reason. I called my mom on my cell phone. Ten years ago cell phones had just became more and more popular, mainly for parents to stay in contact with their kids. These phones were built to send and receive calls, send an occasional text (sometimes for $.10 a text!) and play the game 'Snake". Unlike today where we use our phones for everything other than actual phone calls... These days we use them to take pictures, video, to tweet, check facebook or play angry birds, we were a few years away from that technology... Anyways I called my mom to ask her if it was okay for me to come home because I wasn't feeling good, she agreed. I dropped of my friends and I returned home. I snuggled up on the recliner in the living room and fell asleep....  A couple of hours earlier the ringing of the phone awakened me. My mom was on the other end. She informed me to turn on the TV, I did and we stayed on the phone speechless for what seemed like an eternity as I tried to find words for what my eyes were seeing. I had none, and neither did my mom. I don't know remember what was said, but I remember saying "I love you." to eachother before we got off of the phone, this time we didn't just say it, we said it with passion and meaning. I felt sick, now for a different reason. 

Memorial Circle on campus of Texas Tech University.
9/11/02: I was 18 years old, a Freshman at Texas Tech University... You may be wondering why I am telling the year after story. Well for me I cannot tell one without telling the other... I was on campus, and in the center of campus sits Memorial Circle. One year later Texas Tech had American flags everywhere and encouraged the students to all join in for a moment of silence. It was a scene I will never forget! A couple of thousand of students and a moment of silence that is etched into my memory.

I have friends and family that have served and are currently serving. I thank God everyday for what they and their fellow soldiers have done for me, my family and our country! And to the first responders who did not hesitate before running into the towers to save as many people they could, We will never forget!

Thursday, September 1, 2011

I almost blew off my hand.... Twice!

I had a little time today so I thought I would be able to ride today. It's been a week or so and I have been pretty anxious to get back on it! What ensued almost made me lose a hand!!

I worked my legs a little on Tuesday and have been walking around like I had a prostrate exam! I hate it when my legs are sore. I'm such a baby when it comes to leg soreness. You can't stand up, walk or God forbid go to sit on a toilet!!

I get on the bike and quickly notice the tires are low, not flat, but low. Enough so that I didn't want to get to far away and have to change a tire on the side of the road. Since I am a little bit larger and the tires are a little but smaller, I have some reservations about riding with low tires. I go to air up the tires, sounds simple enough. Well the new road tires have this toothpick for a stem. No ordinary air pump will do it. But I did purchase a flat repair kit, so I look in there for some ideas. Turns out there is an adapter that goes on the stem and attaches to an Air cartridge to air up tires. Thinking about saving the cartridge I head to the local Valero. NATURALLY the Air machine wouldn't work with adapter. My naive thinking believes that I can just put a little bit of the air in tire and be on my way.
This is where it turns for the worse! I put the cartridge to the stem and the cartridge EXPLODES in my hand! I freak out. And if I didn't have my gloves on I would have for sure gotten some sort of frost bite! Ice particles were on the gloves for at least 30" to a minute, IN 100 DEGREE WEATHER! Thinking I must have done something wrong, I try again with a little more poise and control... NOPE! Thought I got shot, my heart had to stop for a moment. I put my stuff back in the little pouch and went and got on the stationary bike. Needless to say I have a lot to learn and a normal pump to purchase!

Happy college football weekend... Oh and labor day!

Wade

- Posted using BlogPress

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

A New Era Begins...




A new era begins... I have always been a mountain bike rider. You know the bikes with tires that are actually wider than a Twizzler! I can't explain how scary... Nay, intimidating it is to look over the handle bars and seeing this very thin piece of rubber struggling to stay inflated while my fat ass is on it! However, this bike makes riding it seem effortless. It's light weight, handles great and, for me, fast.

Meet.... Blue Angel... aka Scotty. I chose this name and here is why, Blue Angel: First it's blue, obvious. Second, it's going to be my Angel. The biking portion of a triathlon will hopefully be my savior. A time to recover from the swim, make up some time, and fly like a Blue Angel! And Scotty: well look at the bike.... "Beam me up Scotty." I'm so excited about the new bike I am even quoting sci-fi and I don't even like Star Trek or Star Wars, or whatever!

Some of you know that my plan was to compete in my first sprint triathlon the first weekend in September. However, my swim training the other day was so HORRIBLE I started to look for one in October... And turns out I have a new plan! A Duathlon on first weekend in October to get me some confidence and experience in transitions. This Duathlon is a 2 mile run, 10 mile bike, 2 mile run... See what I did there? No swim :-) .... Then, a sprint triathlon 2 weeks later. It is the plan, for now... As always stay tuned!

Thanks for reading.
Wade

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Saturday, August 13, 2011

Updating... Updating... Updating...

Sorry followers, it's been a while. I haven't had much to report lately, and didn't want to bore y'all more than usual. So I'm going to bring you up to speed on a few things that have happened lately.
To start, A new bike has come into my life... It's an early Christmas present from my parents. Which is awesome to have parents that show their support and confidence in me with this journey. I haven't received it yet, but the fitting is next week.
(A sneak peek)



I went to three different bike shops and finally bought the bike at Bike Lane in the Woodlands. I feel like I got a good deal but I chose them because I got the best vibe from them. They were patient, blunt when they needed to be and very helpful for this beginner. I ended up getting a bike due to the fact that the bike I was going to ride had a crack in the frame. Which is covered under warranty but not likely going to workout anytime soon... But that's another story, 'hipster bike shop' 2.0... Maybe another time.

My uncle Larry finished a sprint Tri last weekend. A big congrats to him! It has been very hot and that day was no different, to finish is an accomplishment in itself! He shared that the open water swim is more difficult than a swim in the pool, which I knew but it definitely makes me more nervous now.

Training has been going pretty well, with the exception of the swimming. It's hard getting time to get in the pool. I am really excited about getting the new bike and going on it's first ride. I'm trying to stay positive about it all but I'm becoming nervous.

Something to leave you with... My favorite time of the year is around the corner... College Football season! I follow a blog written by Baron Batch. He is a fellow alumnus of Texas Tech, a hard nosed running back, a 7th round draft pick of the Pittsburg Steelers. None of which begin to define him!... Many reports coming out of Steelers training camp last couple of weeks has said that Baron was turning heads with his hard work and ability. But he tore his ACL, days before his first NFL game. Check out his latest blog entry called Detour . I have read it many, many, many times this week and have shared with numerous people. I have even printed it off and pinned it up in my office. Needless to say, it's a better read than my stuff.... Good luck Baron! We are pulling for you!

Wade

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Treadmill Workout

Today I was going to run outside but it rained here... Yes water does actually fall from the sky. I should have ran in it but I am pretty much a fair weather runner! Perfect chance to do some tempo training. Normally I hate the Treadmill but today was different I was actually looking forward to it.

TM Tempo Runs:
WarmUp: 5' Easy (5.5mph), 5' steady (6.0)
Main: 5' Tempo (7.0), 2' easy (5.5),
5' Tempo (7.0), 2' easy (5.5),
6' Steady (6.0)
Cool: 5' easy (5.5)
Total 35 minutes and about 3.5 miles

Wade

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Monday, July 18, 2011

The hipster bike shop...

I went to a bike shop to get some riding shorts so I can start riding long distances. This shop was off of FM 1960 and I went to it off of a recommendation. These hipsters working in this shop greeted me with "What are you looking for?" He might as well said "What the hell are you doing in here?" The guy that asked me this was wearing this stupid looking hat, which made his white-boy fro that much uglier. See picture below and flip up the bill, yep flip up the bill, no really he had the bill flipped up! Keeping from laughing, I asked if they had any tri shorts, even though I know they carried them because I saw on the website and I have done some research! He tells me no they didn't... Which the other hipster behind the counter said that I could check on website... I'm not kidding I am 3 steps in the door, it was as if they didn't even want me in the store. So I told them I wanted to look around. I ended up getting some riding shorts to train in. But guess what I found... Triathlon shorts!! I should have snatched the hat off his head walked out of the store, but I wanted to ride this week so I got the cheapest shorts I could find and got out of there.
I did get a ride in today on the stationary road bike today and felt fine. I need to get out on the road too but my bike needs a tune up. training is going to start stepping up, in all three phases.





Wade
- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

As we speak. Is this a diaper?

I recently bought riding shorts in hopes to jump start the bike aspect to my training. If you have never worn any, they are tight to the leg and feel as if there is a diaper stuck in the ass end of them! But don't feel to bad on the bike.
I had a little break in patients this morning and so I decided to get on the bike. It's a road bike set up and let me tell you, this thing is really uncomfortable! Getting the right seat height, the right setting and the most important not letting my plumber crack be shown to the poor housewives on the treadmill behind me. And they are non-stop gossiping! Good thing is that I'm finally hitting the 45 minute mark and I am ready to get off this thing! Until next time... Have a great week everyone!
OH AND
Be looking for my next blog when I tell you about my experience at a bike shop and how "cool" and unaccepting the hipsters were that were running it. The blog will be a venting blog, maybe tonight!

Wade
- Posted using BlogPress

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Four Years and 40 Pounds

My mom's side of the family has a reunion every 2 years and every-other one is in Louisiana. And I was going through pictures of this year's family reunion, which was back in Louisiana (should be on Kelli's FB soon). I started wondering if I had photos to compare to 4 years ago, the last time the reunion was in Louisiana.
Now a few things have change since then, like: My buddy Raider joined our family, I graduated from Texas Tech, oh and Kelli and I got married. But I also found out a few things: 1) My dad and I need to branch out a little bit with our clothing selections. 2) So THAT is what -40 lbs looks like. 3) I copied the old picture off of my myspace page...Yes THAT myspace...yes I still have it...no I don't use it...yes I remembered my password (well, after about 5 attempts).
... I'm afraid to see what my hair line will look like in another 4 years. It's retreating south to my face.







Wade
- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Mechanism of Injury... A stupid one.

"Don't allow life's treasures become halted by your own stupidity." - Wade Garrett

We will get to the quote in a little bit... We just got done packing up, getting ready to pull out early in AM. We have been in Destin, FL since Tuesday. It's been a relaxing week, sitting on the beach, sipping cervezas and even boogie boarded. We parasailed, took a drive down the coast, and visited Panama City. It has been a great trip, but we have a long drive ahead of us tomorrow. Then back to the grind Monday morning. I got a chance to get two runs in here in Destin. One which was a little over 3 miles that I was pretty happy with, especially with the high humidity... Now the quote. Yes, I did quote myself. It came to me while I was sitting on the beach watching everyone have fun in the water while I was nursing an injury on the bottom of my foot. Being at the beach; I could have stepped on glass, a shell or even gotten a nasty blister playing sand football. Sadly, none of the above. The campground that we are in has a 'your speed is' sign and it shows your speed. Well after a little bit of some liquid courage, we decided to run by it to see how fast we can run. I decided to run barefooted since I was in flip-flops... And you can see where this is going. I have a nickel to quarter sized exposed spot on the ball of my right foot and smaller one on the left. Safe to say that running isn't in my plans this week. I knew it right when I felt the pain, I'm so stupid! I'm off to go clean and re-bandage.

Wade
"Hogs breath is better than no breath at all." - Hogs Breath Saloon

Monday, July 4, 2011

A Big Boy goes on Vacation...

Today is our nation's birthday, HAPPY 4th of JULY! Thank you to the men and women; past, present and future that serve this country to allow me to live the life I love and have the freedom to write this somewhat-read blog.
Kelli, my parents and I have been visiting New Iberia, Louisiana (and surrounding parts) this weekend for a Family reunion. This family reunion lasted 3 days, yes 3 days, that's how we do it! As some people may know people in Louisiana LOVE to feed you, and feed you well! By the grace of GOD the hotel we have been staying at has a workout room, which consisted of a recumbent bike, treadmill, and an elliptical... Plenty to sweat out the beer, fried food and Cajun-goodness out of my body.... just so we could start it all over again.
The first day, I got 3 miles in on the Treadmill and the next day I was able to get a little circuit training with body weight exercises (push ups, crunches, lunges, squats, jumping jax) and the elliptical.
The food and family was an awesome experience and I love coming to see family in Louisiana, they treat us well and the food is always amazing..... Luckily that isn't the end of the vacation. Now we are on to Destin, Florida with some friends. With the plan to run on the beach a few days while we are gone.

But I wanted to leave you with this parting video. This was shot as 14 people were huddled under a 12x12 tent with a big table and a very hot pot of grease. Why you ask? Well the reason is simple, Bobby's Famous Fried Fish! We all were under this tent not only to stay dry from the storm that forced itself on us, but to hold down the tent so it didn't blow away... We HAD to save the fish fry! Mr. Bobby's fish is worth the wet clothes and soaked shoes. It was a team effort and the fish was DAMN worth it! More to come from vacation.... Stay Tuned!



Thanks For Reading,
Wade

Sunday, June 26, 2011

This week's Lows.... finished High

I know that I haven't written in a while, but I don't want to bore you all with the same thing. Writing about how I look like a fish out of water, in the water, will get boring for most and this I realize. However, today this particular entry is a culmination of how the week went.
Let me start by saying the weigh-in this week was AWFUL! The scale wasn't very friendly and I am not happy about it. I am not making excuses, rather looking for answers. Had a little stress in the early part of the week and sleep hours seem to get shorter (for no good reason), I skipped a few workouts this week and didn't get in the pool... so I shouldn't have expected a good result on the scale this week.
In the past once I started seeing results I become complacent and happy with the result up to that point and the weight starts its climb back up. I am hoping that this training for a Triathlon will allow me to not to become so content with the result.....
(At this point, I took a break from this post so Kelli and I could take our niece shopping for her birthday.)......

While the ladies were looking for dresses I decided to try on some clothes. That being said, It has always been hard for me to find clothes that don't look like it came from the tent maker. Today, with my weigh-in still fresh in my mind, I tried on clothes... what ensued MADE MY WEEK. I bought a shirt that only had one 'X' on the tag instead of 'XX' and bought some shorts that had a '3' in the first number on the tag.... I have worn XL shirts before but they never really were all that comfortable and I couldn't tell you the last time my waist has been in the 30's. Needless to say I am excited... I believe this is what I needed to get me out of this weight loss rut.

Until Next Time....
WADE

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

6/15/11 Workout...

I got a little, well quite a bit, nervous when writing up our workout today after Kelli told me we were going to have a third for our workout today. I've never really written up a workout for anyone other than Kelli or I. Our friend Trisha joined in on the workout today! She asked, "You don't do any cardio?" We answered, "This is our cardio."...And it was!

Circuit Training:

A1- Goblet Squat w/ Press x10
A2- Push Ups x20
A3- Log Jumps x20" (seconds)
------ Repeat x3 Rounds consecutive
B1- Bulgarian Split Squat x10ea
B2- DB Bent Row x12
B3- 3 Square 3x10"
------ Repeat x3 Rounds consecutive
C1- Burpee x10
C2- Power Jax x15
C3- Rope x30"
------ Repeat x3 Rounds consecutive
Plank x60" each
Bosu/Ball/flat

This one is going in the Roladex!

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

The tale of the Two Dogs....

AM Run:
In Texas, especially here in Houston area, the heat is rising to the triple digits and training is getting tougher and tougher. You aren't only fighting yourself but the elements as well. Since I don't like running on treadmills, I'm toughing it out! I feel that I had a great run this morning, and definitely had a great sweat going. This run was the first time hitting the pavement since probably Warrior Dash in mid-March! But surprising I was able to non-stop run for 30 minutes, which is what I set out to do. It wasn't as fast as it once was but I Got the volume run I wanted this morning. 30 minutes, 2.85 miles... I'm ok with that.

PM Swim:
My brother and sister-in-law had a white Boxer and his name was Bowen... And when Bowen would try to swim he looked so awkward in the water because he would just punch his arms splashing around aimlessly, his butt would sag in the water and he would gasp for breath, but he would make it, it just look REALLY awkward. On the other hand, my dog is a yellow lab named Raider. When he swims it is effortless. He's smooth, barely a splash, hovers equally above/below the water and hardly makes a sound when swimming... I told you that to tell you this... I'm a Bowen. Just call me Wade Bowen! (haha, if you don't get that joke, do yourself a favor and Google: Wade Bowen, thank me later!)
After work we went to the neighborhood pool and got some laps in. I am getting better, less Bowen-like, but still have my moments. Good news is I believe I am getting better and I have only had three swim workouts... I'm happy!

Something to leave with: I think I have narrowed down my first sprint triathlon to look forward to, but it is not until September and was hoping for something a little sooner... Stay tuned!

Thanks for Reading,
Wade

Sunday, June 12, 2011

6/12/11 workout...

Saturdays usually bring upon all the sinful foods and drinks a dieter hates, and yesterday was no different! Todays workout was fueled by crawfish, sausage, an occasional adult beverage and the always horrific late night '4th meal'... So I created a workout of upper body weights and a total body workout combining slow-controlled movements and fast twitch exercises that would make me sweat so much I would stop thinking about the evil Saturday... I succeeded!

Negative Chin-Ups (3x5)
Dumbbell Curls Pryamid (12-8-4-8-12 reps)
A1- Dips. 3x12-15 (to fatigue)
A2- Delts 3x10

3 Rounds:
DB UprightRow w/Squat x15
Inverted Row x15
Log Jump x20seconds
Curl-to-ArnoldPress x15
QuickFeet Patterns 5x10sec (10"on/ 10"off)
Rest 1 minute.... Repeat

STRETCH & Hydrate!

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

What did I get myself into...

Keep your head down, exhale, reach and pull, kick, head down, breathe, Damn just sucked water, breathe, keep your head down, kick! Breathe! Spit water out!... That's was just half way down the pool.... I SUCK AT SWIMMING! I suck water, suck air and am just not good at it. However my lovely wife was giving me some tips, which helped, but I am going to have to practice, practice, practice.... This swimming thing will be harder than I originally thought! But that's part of the challenge. Right?

Wade
thowgar (twitter)

Monday, June 6, 2011

The Bug....

Since this is my first real entry since the introduction, I want to also add that my grammar, spelling and punctuation isn't going to always be correct but this is not meant to be graded and I will try my best. Also I am typing on an iPad so no telling what the predictive text will come up with... So with that let's get started!

I volunteered for the IronMan qualifier in The Woodlands. I was a part of the medical team that worked on the finish line transporting finishers to the Medical Tent, if needed... let's face it, most of them probably needed it! I worked the late shift (final 5 hours) which means these IronMen and Women were either struggling to finish and/or ecstatic just to be finishing. The first few people crossing the finish that I saw were so excited to accomplish such an amazing feat I immediately caught the bug! Later to be smashed like a cockroach on a boot heel.
I made my first run to the tent and saw a scene I could only begin to describe as a triathlon MASH unit, but that doesn't do it justice! There were triathlons and IV's everywhere! I made plenty of runs to the tent, some of which was typical dehydration and cramping... And one particular run I had a woman who pooped herself in the wheel chair I was pushing her in (yup you read that right). So, I then thought I was crazy for even thinking about attempting this.... However, I'm young, stubborn and I want the new challenge of a sprint triathlon. (1/4 mile swim, 12 mile bike, 3 mile run)... Let the training begin!

Today's workout of the day: Strength/ Cardio
A: Push Press (DB squat w/ military press) 3x12
B1: Alternating DB Curls
B2: Dips
3x12ea

3 rounds: (no rest between exercise)
Tricep kickback in squat position x20
Vert Jump x10
Hammer Curls x20
Quick Feet 3 square 2x15" (15" rest between reps)
Delt Lateral Raise x12
Jump Rope x1' (minute)
------- Rest 1'/ repeat
Stretch


Wade
thowgar (twitter)

Sunday, June 5, 2011

Introducing... Me

....Nothing Special. (However, I was adopted to a great family and My grandfather and I used to joke (before his passing) that I was the "chosen-one", I love him and miss him greatly.) I am married to a women who loves me for who I am and blessed she is in my life! I like sports, LOVE College Football, especially my Texas Tech Red Raiders (class of '08). I have played sports all my life. I am decent at most sports, great at none! I love seeing live music, especially Texas Country. I work as a Licensed Physical Therapist Assistant in a Sports Medicine clinic.
Other things I enjoy and that are apart of me: working out, cooking, good wine, cheap beer, being outdoors (including hunting and fishing), technology and Sports Talk Radio (Houston's 1560AM The Game!). The reason I am telling you (if there is anyone out there) this is because this will be what this blog is about. If none of these things seem interesting to you, then probably not going to interest you.
I have decided to try (keyword TRY) a triathlon and the biggest step will be getting in the water. If anyone has any tips for the they are welcomed! I have a big interest in fitness but as the title says I am indeed a big boy, have been all my life. Some posts will simply be my workout of the day, some recipe's and my trials and tribulations of making weight loss a life long change, not a diet!

Since March I am -25 pounds. I have reached a goal weight I haven't seen in a very long time. I am hoping the scale will be -15 more by August.

I am not a very creative writer nor a big reader. And the main reason I have started this blog is the chance to get to use my new iPad2 more! I hope you enjoy it.

Wade
thowgar (twitter)