Sunday, June 26, 2011

This week's Lows.... finished High

I know that I haven't written in a while, but I don't want to bore you all with the same thing. Writing about how I look like a fish out of water, in the water, will get boring for most and this I realize. However, today this particular entry is a culmination of how the week went.
Let me start by saying the weigh-in this week was AWFUL! The scale wasn't very friendly and I am not happy about it. I am not making excuses, rather looking for answers. Had a little stress in the early part of the week and sleep hours seem to get shorter (for no good reason), I skipped a few workouts this week and didn't get in the pool... so I shouldn't have expected a good result on the scale this week.
In the past once I started seeing results I become complacent and happy with the result up to that point and the weight starts its climb back up. I am hoping that this training for a Triathlon will allow me to not to become so content with the result.....
(At this point, I took a break from this post so Kelli and I could take our niece shopping for her birthday.)......

While the ladies were looking for dresses I decided to try on some clothes. That being said, It has always been hard for me to find clothes that don't look like it came from the tent maker. Today, with my weigh-in still fresh in my mind, I tried on clothes... what ensued MADE MY WEEK. I bought a shirt that only had one 'X' on the tag instead of 'XX' and bought some shorts that had a '3' in the first number on the tag.... I have worn XL shirts before but they never really were all that comfortable and I couldn't tell you the last time my waist has been in the 30's. Needless to say I am excited... I believe this is what I needed to get me out of this weight loss rut.

Until Next Time....
WADE

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

6/15/11 Workout...

I got a little, well quite a bit, nervous when writing up our workout today after Kelli told me we were going to have a third for our workout today. I've never really written up a workout for anyone other than Kelli or I. Our friend Trisha joined in on the workout today! She asked, "You don't do any cardio?" We answered, "This is our cardio."...And it was!

Circuit Training:

A1- Goblet Squat w/ Press x10
A2- Push Ups x20
A3- Log Jumps x20" (seconds)
------ Repeat x3 Rounds consecutive
B1- Bulgarian Split Squat x10ea
B2- DB Bent Row x12
B3- 3 Square 3x10"
------ Repeat x3 Rounds consecutive
C1- Burpee x10
C2- Power Jax x15
C3- Rope x30"
------ Repeat x3 Rounds consecutive
Plank x60" each
Bosu/Ball/flat

This one is going in the Roladex!

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

The tale of the Two Dogs....

AM Run:
In Texas, especially here in Houston area, the heat is rising to the triple digits and training is getting tougher and tougher. You aren't only fighting yourself but the elements as well. Since I don't like running on treadmills, I'm toughing it out! I feel that I had a great run this morning, and definitely had a great sweat going. This run was the first time hitting the pavement since probably Warrior Dash in mid-March! But surprising I was able to non-stop run for 30 minutes, which is what I set out to do. It wasn't as fast as it once was but I Got the volume run I wanted this morning. 30 minutes, 2.85 miles... I'm ok with that.

PM Swim:
My brother and sister-in-law had a white Boxer and his name was Bowen... And when Bowen would try to swim he looked so awkward in the water because he would just punch his arms splashing around aimlessly, his butt would sag in the water and he would gasp for breath, but he would make it, it just look REALLY awkward. On the other hand, my dog is a yellow lab named Raider. When he swims it is effortless. He's smooth, barely a splash, hovers equally above/below the water and hardly makes a sound when swimming... I told you that to tell you this... I'm a Bowen. Just call me Wade Bowen! (haha, if you don't get that joke, do yourself a favor and Google: Wade Bowen, thank me later!)
After work we went to the neighborhood pool and got some laps in. I am getting better, less Bowen-like, but still have my moments. Good news is I believe I am getting better and I have only had three swim workouts... I'm happy!

Something to leave with: I think I have narrowed down my first sprint triathlon to look forward to, but it is not until September and was hoping for something a little sooner... Stay tuned!

Thanks for Reading,
Wade

Sunday, June 12, 2011

6/12/11 workout...

Saturdays usually bring upon all the sinful foods and drinks a dieter hates, and yesterday was no different! Todays workout was fueled by crawfish, sausage, an occasional adult beverage and the always horrific late night '4th meal'... So I created a workout of upper body weights and a total body workout combining slow-controlled movements and fast twitch exercises that would make me sweat so much I would stop thinking about the evil Saturday... I succeeded!

Negative Chin-Ups (3x5)
Dumbbell Curls Pryamid (12-8-4-8-12 reps)
A1- Dips. 3x12-15 (to fatigue)
A2- Delts 3x10

3 Rounds:
DB UprightRow w/Squat x15
Inverted Row x15
Log Jump x20seconds
Curl-to-ArnoldPress x15
QuickFeet Patterns 5x10sec (10"on/ 10"off)
Rest 1 minute.... Repeat

STRETCH & Hydrate!

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

What did I get myself into...

Keep your head down, exhale, reach and pull, kick, head down, breathe, Damn just sucked water, breathe, keep your head down, kick! Breathe! Spit water out!... That's was just half way down the pool.... I SUCK AT SWIMMING! I suck water, suck air and am just not good at it. However my lovely wife was giving me some tips, which helped, but I am going to have to practice, practice, practice.... This swimming thing will be harder than I originally thought! But that's part of the challenge. Right?

Wade
thowgar (twitter)

Monday, June 6, 2011

The Bug....

Since this is my first real entry since the introduction, I want to also add that my grammar, spelling and punctuation isn't going to always be correct but this is not meant to be graded and I will try my best. Also I am typing on an iPad so no telling what the predictive text will come up with... So with that let's get started!

I volunteered for the IronMan qualifier in The Woodlands. I was a part of the medical team that worked on the finish line transporting finishers to the Medical Tent, if needed... let's face it, most of them probably needed it! I worked the late shift (final 5 hours) which means these IronMen and Women were either struggling to finish and/or ecstatic just to be finishing. The first few people crossing the finish that I saw were so excited to accomplish such an amazing feat I immediately caught the bug! Later to be smashed like a cockroach on a boot heel.
I made my first run to the tent and saw a scene I could only begin to describe as a triathlon MASH unit, but that doesn't do it justice! There were triathlons and IV's everywhere! I made plenty of runs to the tent, some of which was typical dehydration and cramping... And one particular run I had a woman who pooped herself in the wheel chair I was pushing her in (yup you read that right). So, I then thought I was crazy for even thinking about attempting this.... However, I'm young, stubborn and I want the new challenge of a sprint triathlon. (1/4 mile swim, 12 mile bike, 3 mile run)... Let the training begin!

Today's workout of the day: Strength/ Cardio
A: Push Press (DB squat w/ military press) 3x12
B1: Alternating DB Curls
B2: Dips
3x12ea

3 rounds: (no rest between exercise)
Tricep kickback in squat position x20
Vert Jump x10
Hammer Curls x20
Quick Feet 3 square 2x15" (15" rest between reps)
Delt Lateral Raise x12
Jump Rope x1' (minute)
------- Rest 1'/ repeat
Stretch


Wade
thowgar (twitter)

Sunday, June 5, 2011

Introducing... Me

....Nothing Special. (However, I was adopted to a great family and My grandfather and I used to joke (before his passing) that I was the "chosen-one", I love him and miss him greatly.) I am married to a women who loves me for who I am and blessed she is in my life! I like sports, LOVE College Football, especially my Texas Tech Red Raiders (class of '08). I have played sports all my life. I am decent at most sports, great at none! I love seeing live music, especially Texas Country. I work as a Licensed Physical Therapist Assistant in a Sports Medicine clinic.
Other things I enjoy and that are apart of me: working out, cooking, good wine, cheap beer, being outdoors (including hunting and fishing), technology and Sports Talk Radio (Houston's 1560AM The Game!). The reason I am telling you (if there is anyone out there) this is because this will be what this blog is about. If none of these things seem interesting to you, then probably not going to interest you.
I have decided to try (keyword TRY) a triathlon and the biggest step will be getting in the water. If anyone has any tips for the they are welcomed! I have a big interest in fitness but as the title says I am indeed a big boy, have been all my life. Some posts will simply be my workout of the day, some recipe's and my trials and tribulations of making weight loss a life long change, not a diet!

Since March I am -25 pounds. I have reached a goal weight I haven't seen in a very long time. I am hoping the scale will be -15 more by August.

I am not a very creative writer nor a big reader. And the main reason I have started this blog is the chance to get to use my new iPad2 more! I hope you enjoy it.

Wade
thowgar (twitter)